85% of couples conceive in the first year, I am not one of them

Oh boy, what has it been, 6 months since my last post? So, so much has changed. Last post we were in North Carolina celebrating Park man’s second birthday. We were considering staying there another couple of years for my husband to finish his masters since the company buyout never happened. Towards the end of our lease my husband began looking for jobs back home and was surprised to land a job he had been turned down for in the past. A job that pays more money and is a position that rarely goes to younger workers. He was so excited to land this job that we packed up and went back home. Can anyone say they’re surprised?

While still in NC we began the buying process on a house back home (that my husband drove up to see) that we both liked. It needs far less work than our last house and has a ton of potential. We have been living with my mom since the beginning of November. We closed on the house at the end of December and shortly after my husband moved in to begin working on it full time. It will probably be 3-6 months before it is ready for my son and I to move in. That’s where we are now, staying with my mom while my husband works on our new house about 50 minutes away (near where we used to live).

Back to my son! So last time I blogged we were in the beginning stages of getting speech therapy. After we got in contact with the right people it took about 2 weeks until he had his “evaluation”. They way they do it is that it is  a general evaluation and not just a speech evaluation. The evaluators didn’t see a big need for therapy, but did concede he was on the fence and they could recommend he go to the next step, which is a speech evaluation. He was evaluated again and determined again that he was on the fence and if I wanted to continue with the therapy they would say he needs it. So I said yes, of course. He was seen a total of 3 times before we moved and the entire process from start to therapy was 6 weeks. They were supposed to email me any info they could find about local programs here but didn’t, nor have I ever gotten a bill despite giving both my case worker and the therapist my new address. I have decided not to continue with therapy. The therapy can be summed up as a woman coming to your home and using items and pictures to try to coax words out of your kid, as well as giving you suggestions on things to work on. In my case it was going to cost 30 dollars per half hour session, which he got once a week. Later in the day of his first session he spontaneously began using 2 word phrases. I don’t think the therapy had anything to do with it. Out of nowhere as I was taking my son to go somewhere he said “bye rawr” to one of his dino toys. Ever since then he started using 2 word phrases including “more ____” and “bye bye ______”. Now that we are with my mom he has picked up words for just about everything and uses 2 word, and sometimes 3 word phrases. His main issue is still articulation, he is not always easy to understand, but he is getting better. I think he’s just a late bloomer with speech. My friend whos son is 10 days older than mine is actually speaking less than my son. I guess I stressed for nothing.

What else is he up to? Well he can go up and down stairs vertically (though I don’t trust him to, he is still incredibly clumsy). He is home potty trained with just pants on (no diaper and no underpants). He has trouble pulling his pants up, and as such he usually just takes them all the way off to sit on his little potty. I have seen him leave them around his ankles then pull them up when done a few times but he has trouble pulling them over his butt. I’d like to work on using a potty seat when we get to our own house. He still refuses to use a fork most of the time, but uses a spoon for applesauce and yogurt type foods. I wish he would eat a little more neat for his age. He is super rambunctious and it drains me to contain him all day. It’s 10x worse at my mom’s house because there is so little baby proofing. All he wants to do all day is go up and down the stairs by himself, bother the cat, throw toys, demand you play with him by piling toys on you (or in the case of me sitting here typing, crashing a truck into my thigh over and over), coloring and “painting” the fridge, and watch TV. Omg he will not shut up about “Puppy Show”, aka Paw Patrol. He has become obsessed with this show over the past 2 months. I don’t like it because it’s not educational but such is toddler life. He’s also obsessed with choo choos and begs grandma to “google trains” on her tablet. He got a train table for Christmas (it’s at our new house) and he will play with it the entire time we’re there. He’s a very typical toddler boy that’s for sure!

I can’t wait until we move into our new house. Living with my mom has its perks but I’m kind of ready to get back to my own life and my own routines. I don’t think I’m going to have the same anxiety and crazies about this house as the old one. The old one was a nightmare, this one is really nice and much newer. My husband has only been gone 3 days but I already miss him. Our marriage has been pretty good, no real issues. Here’s hoping 2016 will be the best year yet.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

