85% of couples conceive in the first year, I am not one of them

Totally Tres

3 Years old! I can’t believe I started this blog to keep track of my infertility progress 4 years ago!

So anyway, on to the update. We have since moved out of my mom’s and are living in the new house. I am still getting anxiety over it in similar ways to our original house 2 years ago. The basement is a total pig stye and unfinished and I hate going down there to do laundry. I’m impatient and I know this is going to take my husband forever to finish so that it’s acceptable to show off. The garage is also a complete mess with construction debris. I wish my husband could organize his shit and not be so messy. My life, and by extension his, would be a lot less stressful. At least the kitchen is almost done (trim and backsplash needed) so it’s not has half assed as it was at the last house. I don’t think I can ever be happy in my home unless we purchase one that NEEDS NO  WORK. I want that feeling before I die, to buy a house and just move your shit in and not live in a constant construction zone for 5 years.

Our son is doing well. He has gotten better with speech and you can actually hold a proto conversation with him. He can say phrases like “my mouth tastes bad” (he’s sick so it’s the mucus), “I’m so so so hungry”, “pick up me”, and “Can’t play outside, a storm coming”. So the grammar isn’t there, and he isn’t always easy to understand, but his vocabulary is wide and he can communicate his needs very well.

He also started preschool last week and is apparently being a good student. I wanted him to socialize and work on his fine motor skills mainly. He is potty trained and only wears a diaper at night. He can not do his own pants most of the time though. Getting dressed is very frustrating to him and I hope by the next update he can dress himself. He likes asking “what’s that noise” and I feel the “why” phase is right around the corner. He loves doing puzzles at the moment but his interests are fleeting. He still mostly makes a mess of all his toys and refuses to play with them the “correct” way. Still a messy eater, much better with a fork though. He is absolutely crazy most days and very hard to control and calm down. Very defiant and absent minded. I never thought I’d have to yell at a tiny human to stop trying to carry the fucking kitten 500 times a day. Logic would dictate that maybe someone would get it after 5 times but logic has no place in the toddler brain.

I’m still on the fence about having another child. There are times I really really want it, and then I realize I hate the newborn stage, I can barely handle 1 child who is full of energy and wears me out, and as a SAHM I’m pretty broke and can’t afford another. And by afford I mean the likely IVF and birth costs. Who knows what will happen with that, I still have time to decide. If it turns out I’ve passed my window and can not have anymore, I will come to terms with that. Having one child wouldn’t be so bad.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

